Lamb and Barley Soup

Well, this is my first ever post and I’m experimenting …. more like winging it …

I thought that I’d start out with the recipe for a delicious Lamb and Barley soup that I made just the other day.  It’s a great warming dish to have on a cold autumn or winters day.

DSC00362

Ingredients:

  • Approx 600g Lamb – all fat removed and diced to bite size chunks
  • 2 cloves garlic – crushed
  • 2 medium carrots – chopped
  • 1 large swede – diced
  • 1/2 – 2/3 cup of pearl barley
  • 2 medium onions – diced
  • 2 cups chopped celery – I use the celery tops
  • 1 small silver beet – chopped
  • 1 litre beef stock
  • 2 cups water
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

DSC00345

  1. Heat some olive oil in a deep heavy based pot.  Throw in the onion, garlic and celery and saute for a few minutes.  
  2. Add the lamb and brown the meat a little.

DSC00348-001

  1. Add all other ingredients (except the silverbeet).
  2. Bring to the boil then turn down the heat and simmer for 1.5 – 2 hours until the meat is soft.  Add more water if required.
  3. Add the chopped silver beet and bring back to the boil for 3 minutes until silver beet is soft.
  4. Add seasoning to taste.

I used a pressure cooker to make my soup, but the old-fashioned ‘cook it slowly’ method works just as well.

Note:  It’s important to cut off as much fat from the lamb as possible else the soup will be very oily as lamb tends to be a fatty meat.

ENJOY!!!!  My family and I did ….

Do you enjoy soups? Or, do you prefer hearty stews?

About ElaineM

Ramblings about life, food and things that make me happy!! I'm a mom with a lovely son, a loving husband and a happy life and I wanted to share that with you. I work part-time and try to keep up with a busy life the rest of the time.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

